Cobb PARKS 2019 ‘Fun in the Park’ photo contest

Heritage Park -- a person with a hooded coat walking down a path surrounded by vegetation, is article about Fun in the Park photo contestHeritage Park in Mableton (photo by Larry Felton Johnson)

If you enjoy photography, and you spend time in parks within Cobb County, you might want to show off your photos in the 2019 Fun in the Park photo contest.  This annual event allows residents to enter photos of their visits to the parks.  And it isn’t limited to county parks.  Photos from city parks in Marietta, Smyrna, Austell, and the other incorporated cities within the county are eligible, too.

Up to 10 photos can be submitted, submissions of digital photos may be made by email, and the deadline for submission is November 6, 2019.

Categories for Fun in the Park

There are three categories for the contest:

  • Sports and Action
  • Nature and Wildlife
  • General (anything else that fits in the theme of ‘Fun in the Park’)


Here are the rules described on the contest webpage:


All photos must have been taken at a Cobb County park, facility, activity or event.  Any county or city park in Cobb County accepted. Please note that this excludes National Parks (i.e. Kennesaw Mountain and Chattahoochee River National Park) and parks on private property. These photos are not eligible. See the Cobb PARKS website at for a complete listing of county parks.  Pictures taken during programs and events sponsored by Cobb PARKS, but occur off park property, are eligible for entry. The contest is open to all photographers.

For more information:

For complete information, and to take a look at last years winners, visit the contest webpage.

About Cobb PARKS

According to the website for Cobb PARKS:

Cobb PARKS is a branch of the Cobb County Government, under the jurisdiction of the Cobb County Board of Commissioners. An appointed Recreation Board serves as the department’s advisory body that provides recommendations for programs, services and facilities.

The Department originated in 1966 as the Cobb County Parks and Recreation Department, and in 1989 was renamed Cobb County Parks, Recreation and Cultural Affairs Department with the addition of the Arts and Cultural Affairs Department. The Department is divided into three divisions: Administration, Park Operations, and Services. Administration includes the Directors office, business management, and human resource functions. Parks Operations is responsible for maintaining the parks and its structures. The Services Division oversees the programming offered through the department.