More lane closures on Powder Springs Road/SR 360 this weekend

Road construction equipment on shoulder of road with orange safety barriers

The Georgia Department of Transportation announced in a press release that contractors will install lane closures on Powder Springs Road/SR 360 this weekend to continue the ongoing road resurfacing between Windy Hill Road [where Macland road begins] and Sandtown Road.

The press release describes the scope and schedule of this weekend’s work as follows:

Weather and on-site conditions permitting, one left lane closure will be installed on SR 360/Powder Springs Road eastbound and westbound between Sandtown Road and Macland Road from 9:00 p.m. on Friday, April 22 until 5:00 a.m. on Monday, April 25.  

This $2.4 million project is scheduled for completion in spring 2022.

The GDOT recommends the following safety precautions for drivers approaching the work zone:

As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation. 

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Emily Dunn from the 9th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.