GDOT to install lane Closures on I-75 in Marietta this weekend between Allgood and Canton roads

Shield symbol for I-75

Georgia Department of Transportation contractors will install lane closures on Interstate 75 (I-75) near the City of Marietta in Cobb County this weekend. 

These closures are part of a bridge preservation project on I-75 at three locations in Cobb and one location in Fulton County. 

Three left lanes on I-75 northbound between Allgood Road and Canton Road will be closed from 10 p.m. on Friday, March 31 until 5 a.m. on Monday, weather and on-site conditions permitting. 

This $10.7 million project will replace or repair bridge concrete overlay, substructures and superstructures, and bridge joints, and is expected to be completed in fall 2023.

The GDOT recommends the following safety precautions for drivers approaching the work zone:

As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation. 

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Emily Dunn from the 9th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.