Further lane closures this weekend on Austell Road for resurfacing

Road construction equipment on shoulder of road with orange safety barriers

The Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) announced lane closures this weekend on Austell Road overnight Friday and Sunday.  The entire span of the project runs between Veterans Memorial Highway and South Cobb Drive.

The public information release describes the scope and schedule of the work as follows:

Contractors for the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) will install single lane closures on State Route 5/Austell Road (SR 5) this weekend as resurfacing activities continue on the roadway from SR 8/Veterans Memorial Highway to SR 280/South Cobb Drive in Cobb County. Resurfacing improves the condition of the roadway and provides a smoother ride for drivers.  

Weather and on-site conditions permitting, one alternating right or left lane will be closed on SR 5 the project area beginning 9 p.m. on Friday, September 22 and Sunday, September 24 until 6 a.m. the following mornings. These lane closures will help ensure the safety of drivers and workers as crews continue milling, inlay and resurfacing operations on the roadway.  


This $7 million resurfacing project is scheduled for completion in spring 2024.  

The GDOT recommends the following safety precautions for drivers approaching the work zone:

As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

“Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. 

“And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. 

“The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation.”

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Robert L. Brown, Jr.  from the 4th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.

1st Congressional DistrictAnn R. PurcellSecretary4/15/27
2nd Congressional DistrictCathy Williams4/15/28
3rd Congressional DistrictDennis McEntire4/15/27
4th Congressional DistrictRobert L. Brown, Jr.Chairman4/15/26
5th Congressional DistrictStacey Key4/15/28
6th Congressional DistrictRudy Bowen4/15/25
7th Congressional DistrictCurt Thompson4/15/24
8th Congressional DistrictTim Golden4/15/25
9th Congressional DistrictEmily Dunn4/15/28
10th Congressional DistrictJamie Boswell4/15/28
11th Congressional DistrictJeff Lewis4/15/26
12th Congressional DistrictGreg Morris4/15/24
13th Congressional DistrictDana Lemon4/15/28
14th Congressional DistrictMicah Gravley4/15/28