KSU athletics wins ASUN Bill Bibb Trophy as all-sport champions of the league

Kennesaw State University buses -- in article about Kennesaw State Best for VetsKennesaw State University (photo by Larry Felton Johnson)

The Kennesaw State department of athletics won the 2017-18 ASUN Bill Bibb Trophy as all-sport champions of the league, for the first time in the history of the school.  KSU was the runner-up last year, behind three-time defending champion Florida Gulf Coast University.

KSU netted the highest points in six sports, including regular season titles in volleyball and softball, and championship titles in women’s golf, women’s outdoor track & field and both the men’s indoor and outdoor track and field. In total, KSU garners 240 out of a possible 339 points.

ASUN awards three trophies: the Jesse C. Fletcher Trophy for men’s programs, the Sherman Day Trophy for women’s athletics, and the Bibb Trophy for overall performance. This year North Florida won the Fletcher Trophy and FGCU won the Day Trophy.  This is the first year in which the three trophies were awarded to three different schools.

In a press release from KSU, Milton Overton, the school’s Director of Athletics, said, “Winning seven Conference Championships in a single year, enthroned with this coveted award to finish the season, is truly a blessing. Winning an award like this is the result of many people dedicated to our mission to build champions in the classroom, on the field, in the community and in life. The Owl Nation, including our student-athletes, coaches, administrators, alumni and donors have clearly bought in to the process of building and maintaining a winning culture.  I credit Vaughn Williams and the early support of the program for laying the groundwork needed to make this achievement possible.”

For more information, visit the KSU OWLs press release announcing the award, or the article about the awards from the ASUN website.