Dense fog advisory in effect for Cobb and other north Georgia counties until tomorrow morning at 9 a.m. Wed. December 7

Headlights approaching through fogimage from the National Weather Service

The National Weather Service issued a dense fog advisory for Cobb County and other parts of north Georgia on Tuesday, December 6 (today) that will last until Wednesday December 7 (tomorrow) at 9 a.m.

The same alert also warns of the possibility of locally heavy rain.

What is in the statement?

The statement gives the following details:


* WHAT…Visibility one quarter mile or less in dense fog.

* WHERE…Portions of north and east central Georgia.

* WHEN…Until 9 AM EST Wednesday.

* IMPACTS…Hazardous driving conditions due to low visibility.


A Dense Fog Advisory means visibilities will frequently be

reduced to a quarter mile or less. If driving, slow down, use your

headlights, and leave plenty of distance ahead of you.

.DAY ONE…Tonight…

A dense fog advisory has been issued for parts of North and

Central Georgia. Visibility will frequently be reduced to a

quarter mile or less.

Scattered showers will continue this evening in parts of north

Georgia. Localized flooding will continue to be possible along

with rises on smaller creeks, streams and rivers.

What is meant by “isolated” and “scattered”?

The NWS defines “isolated” as follows:

A National Weather Service convective precipitation descriptor for a 10 percent chance of measurable precipitation (0.01 inch). Isolated is used interchangeably with few.

“Scattered” has the following definition:

When used to describe precipitation (for example: “scattered showers”) – Area coverage of convective weather affecting 30 percent to 50 percent of a forecast zone (s).

In other words isolated means a few showers, scattered means the showers are likely to cover 30 to 50 percent of the affected region.

What counties are affected?

The following counties are included in the hazardous weather outlook:

Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Bleckley, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattahoochee, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Crawford, Crisp, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Dodge, Dooly, Douglas, Emanuel, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Gilmer, Glascock, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Laurens, Lumpkin, Macon, Madison, Marion, Meriwether, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, North Fulton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Rockdale, Schley, South Fulton, Spalding, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Taylor, Telfair, Toombs, Towns, Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, White, Whitfield, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson

About the National Weather Service

The National Weather Service (NWS) is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

The NWS describes its role as follows:

“The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather, water, and climate forecasts and warnings for the United States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy.

“These services include Forecasts and Observations, Warnings, Impact-based Decision Support Services, and Education in an effort to build a Weather-Ready Nation. The ultimate goal is to have a society that is prepared for and responds to weather, water and climate events.”

>>>Read all the Cobb County Courier climate and weather coverage by following this link.