Weekend lane closures on I-75 in Marietta beginning Friday night

Shield symbol for I-75

The Georgia Department of Transportation announced lane closures on I-75 in Marietta from Friday evening December 9 to Monday morning December 12.

The press release for the work describes the scope and schedule as follows:

MARIETTAContractors for the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) will install lane closures on Interstate 75 at State Route 120 in the City of Marietta this weekend. These closures are related to a bridge preservation project on I-75 at SR 120 Loop in Cobb County and Mount Paran Road in Fulton County.

Weather and on-site conditions permitting, three left lanes will be closed on I-75 southbound in proximity of SR 120/North Marietta Parkway from 9 p.m. Friday, December 9 until 5 a.m. on Monday. These closures will help ensure safety for drivers and work crews as they repair part of the bridge.

The $2.8 million project will replace or repair the bridges’ concrete overlay, substructures and superstructures, and bridge joints.

The GDOT recommends the following safety precautions for drivers approaching the work zone:

As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation.

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Emily Dunn from the 9th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.