Lane closures on I-75 in Marietta over the weekend for bridge preservation

Shield symbol for I-75

The Georgia Department of Transportation distributed the following press release about lane closures on I-75 in Cobb County on Friday and Saturday overnight:

Contractors for the Georgia Department of Transportation (GDOT) will install lane closures on Interstate 75 this weekend in the city of Marietta, Cobb County. These closures are related to a bridge preservation project on I-75 at three locations in Cobb and one location in Fulton County.

Weather and on-site conditions permitting, these are the scheduled closures between N Marietta Parkway and the Roswell Road Connector:

  • From 10 p.m. on Friday, March 10 until 6 p.m. on Saturday, three right lanes will be closed on I-75 northbound and three left lanes will be closed on I-75 southbound
  • From 6 p.m. on Saturday until 5 a.m. on Monday, three right lanes will be closed on I-75 northbound and three left lanes will be closed on I-75 southbound  

This project will replace or repair the bridges’ concrete overlay, substructures and superstructures, and bridge joints. This $10.7 million project is scheduled for completion in fall 2023.

The GDOT recommends the following safety precautions for drivers approaching the work zone:

As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation. 

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Emily Dunn from the 9th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.