KSU presents sixth annual Presidential Diversity Awards

2018 Presidential Diversity Award winners, from left, Edwin Akins, Savannah Bronson, Pao Scudder, Griselda Thomas, Charles Dickens, Michael Redd, Roneisha Worthy, and Joya Carter Hicks. (photo courtesy of Kennesaw State University)

Each year Kennesaw State University’s Office of Diversity and Inclusion present awards to KSU faculty, staff, and students for their “contributions toward creating more inclusive and welcoming campus environments.” The sixth annual Presidential Diversity Awards were given during a ceremony on Wednesday.

According to a news release from KSU, “During the ceremony, speakers reflected on the values and the actions represented by the award winners, who have worked on campus in the areas of women’s empowerment and gender equality; environmental sustainability; racial awareness and knowledge; and support and advocacy for the LGBTQ community, students with disabilities and veterans.”

Ken Harmon, interim president of KSU was quoted in the news release: “There are certain foundations and fundamentals that bring us together as a community, ideas like freedom of speech and a respect for differences. Kennesaw State remains a place that fosters all perspectives, across backgrounds, beliefs, cultures and abilities. We may differ and disagree, but my experience has shown that the more diverse the decision-making groups are, the better the decisions.”

Here is a list of the winners by category, along with videos from KSU:

Outstanding Contribution Award

Roneisha Worthy, assistant professor, Civil and Construction Engineering, Southern Polytechnic College of Engineering and Engineering Technology

Roneisha Worthy – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.

Teresa M. Joyce Award for Excellence

Charles Dickens, community affairs officer, KSU Police Department

CJ Dickens – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.

C. Paul Excellence in Sustainability Award

Edwin Akins, associate professor of architecture, Department of Architecture

Pao Scudder, groundskeeper, Marietta Campus, Facilities Services

Edwin Akins – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.

Mattox Award for Excellence in Service and Leadership

Mike Redd, assistant registrar and part-time instructor of sport management

Mike Redd – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.

O.H. Social Justice Award

Griselda Thomas, associate professor of English and interdisciplinary studies and coordinator of African and African Diaspora Studies

Griselda Thomas – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.

Savannah Bronson, senior, human services major

Savannah Bronson – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.

Carol J. Pope Award

Joya Carter-Hicks, associate professor in special education and coordinator of the Universal Design for Learning Laboratory

Dr. Joya Hicks – Diversity Awards from Kennesaw State on Vimeo.