Qualifying begins Aug 16 in four cities in Cobb for 2021 municipal elections

absentee ballot drop boxBallot drop at the South Cobb Government Center (photo by Larry Felton Johnson)

If you’re interested in running for office in one of five of the six cities in Cobb County: Acworth, Austell, Kennesaw, or Marietta in their 2021 municipal elections, qualifying will begin on August 16. Powder Springs has not yet determined its qualifying dates.

Cobb County Elections posted the following information on their website, which includes the qualifying fees and links for more information:

Each candidate must meet the qualifications for office as prescribed by State Law and Municipal Code. Each candidate or his or her designee shall file a Notice of Candidacy and Affidavit form, which is available at www.sos.ga.gov and will also be provided at the qualifying location. The qualifying fee shall be payable by cash, check, or money order made out to the City.

Qualifying for municipal offices will be conducted at the following locations:

MunicipalityQualifying FeesQualifying Dates & Location
Acworth    Mayor – $612.00 Alderman – $396.00 Post 4, at large Post 5, at largeAcworth City Hall  (Board Room)
4415 Center Street
Acworth, GA 30101 August 16 – August 18 8:30am – 4:30pm Closed for lunch 12:00pm – 1:00pm
Austell    Council – $432.00 Post 1, at large Ward 1 Ward 3Austell City Hall (Conference Room)
5000 Austell-Powder Springs Road, Suite 121
Austell, GA 30106 August 16 – August 18 8:30am – 4:30pm Closed for lunch 12:30pm – 1:30pm
Kennesaw    Council – $360.00 Post 3, at large Post 4, at large Post 5, at largeKennesaw City Hall (HR Training Room)
2529 J.O. Stephenson Avenue
Kennesaw, GA 30144 August 16 – August 18 8:30am – 4:30pm Closed for lunch 12:00pm – 1:00pm
Marietta    Mayor – $756.00 Council – $567.00 Wards 1,2,3,4,5,6,7 Marietta Board of Education – $207.36 Wards 1,2,3,4,5,6,7Marietta City Hall (Clerk’s Office)
205 Lawrence Street
Marietta, GA 30060 August 16 – August 18 8:30am – 4:30pm Closed for lunch 12:00pm – 1:00pm
Powder Springs    Council – $360.00 Ward 1 Ward 2 Ward 3Powder Springs City Hall (2nd Floor Conference Room)
4484 Marietta Street
Powder Springs, GA 30127 Dates TBD 8:30am – 4:30pm Closed for lunch 1:00pm – 2:00pm


Visit the Secretary of State’s website to obtain a list of Georgia’s Qualifying Candidates.

Requirements For Qualifying

Various offices have different requirements for those who wish to run. It is the applicant’s responsibility to determine what the qualifications are and that they are met. For more information,  visit the Georgia Secretary of State’s website .

County offices may have additional requirements. If so, these requirements can be found in the online Cobb County Code.