Lane closures on Lake Acworth Road this weekend

Road construction equipment on shoulder of road with orange safety barriers

The Georgia Department of Transportation announced in a press release that its work crews will install single lane closures on SR 92/Lake Acworth Drive in Cobb County this weekend for the SR 92 Widening and Reconstruction project between US 41/SR 3/N Cobb Parkway and Glade Road.

The GDOT described the scope and schedule of the work as follows:

Weather and on-site conditions permitting, on Friday, May 6 from 9 p.m. until 6 a.m. on Saturday morning, one lane will be closed on SR 92 northbound and southbound between Cobb Parkway and Glade Road. On-site signage and flaggers will direct traffic through the project area as work crews pave the roadway.

This $63.6 million mobility ad safety project includes widening SR 92 into a four-lane divided roadway with a center raised median, 10-foot wide multi-use trail on the east side and a five-foot wide sidewalk on the west side. Also included is the construction of a new bridge over SR 293/CSX railroad and a new bridge over Allatoona Lake.


The GDOT recommends the following safety precautions for drivers approaching the work zone:

As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation.

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Emily Dunn from the 9th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.