Hazardous weather outlook for Cobb: marginal risk of severe weather today as storms continue

hazardous weather January 8, illustrated by lightning with a Cobb County Courier logo and "hazardous weather outlook"

The National Weather Service issued a hazardous weather outlook for  Cobb County and other counties in the region for Wednesday, Aug 9, 2023.

There is a marginal risk of severe weather in north Georgia today, and a slightly greater risk of severe weather in northeast Georgia after midnight.

What is in the statement?

The hazardous weather outlook  gives the following details:

This Hazardous Weather Outlook is for portions of North and Central Georgia.


.DAY ONE…Today and Tonight…

Patchy dense fog will continue in the mountains of north Georgia,

along the Georgia Alabama border and in central Georgia through 9

AM this morning.

There is a Marginal Risk (Level 1 of 5) of severe weather in the

region today and a Slight Risk (Level 2 of 5) of severe weather in

northeast Georgia after midnight tonight. The primary potential

hazard with any storms would be damaging wind gusts. Lighting and

brief heavy downpours may also occur. The overall threat level is

lower than it has been the last three days.

.DAYS TWO THROUGH SEVEN…Thursday through Tuesday…

There is a Slight Risk (Level 2 of 5) of excessive rainfall and a

Marginal Risk (Level 1 of 5) for severe storms with damaging

winds in northern Georgia on Thursday.

Periods of thunderstorm activity will continue through next

Tuesday. The highest storm chances will occur during the

afternoon and evening hours each day.


Spotter activation will not be needed through tonight.

What counties are affected?

The following counties are included in the hazardous weather outlook:

Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Bibb, Bleckley, Butts, Carroll, Catoosa, Chattahoochee, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clayton, Cobb, Coweta, Crawford, Crisp, Dade, Dawson, DeKalb, Dodge, Dooly, Douglas, Emanuel, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Gilmer, Glascock, Gordon, Greene, Gwinnett, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Heard, Henry, Houston, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Laurens, Lumpkin, Macon, Madison, Marion, Meriwether, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, North Fulton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Rockdale, Schley, South Fulton, Spalding, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Taylor, Telfair, Toombs, Towns, Treutlen, Troup, Twiggs, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Warren, Washington, Webster, Wheeler, White, Whitfield, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson

About the National Weather Service

The National Weather Service (NWS) is a part of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration (NOAA).

The NWS describes its role as follows:

“The National Weather Service (NWS) provides weather, water, and climate forecasts and warnings for the United States, its territories, adjacent waters and ocean areas, for the protection of life and property and the enhancement of the national economy. 

“These services include Forecasts and Observations, Warnings, Impact-based Decision Support Services, and Education in an effort to build a Weather-Ready Nation. The ultimate goal is to have a society that is prepared for and responds to weather, water and climate events.”

>>> Read all the Cobb County Courier climate and weather coverage by following this link.