Sen. Michael Rhett and Rep. Teri Anulewicz rank top among Cobb state legislators on environmental issues

State Senator Michael Rhett -- photo by Larry Felton Johnson (licensed under Creative Commons 3.0)

According to the Environmental Scorecard from Environment Georgia and the Georgia Conservation Voters, state Senator Michael Rhett and Representative Teri Anulewicz achieved perfect scores on environmentally-conscious voting in this completed legislative session. Rhett represents SD-33, which covers Austell, Powder Springs, Marietta, and parts of Smyrna, Mableton, and Fair Oaks, and Anulewicz represents HD-42 which includes portions of Smyrna, Marietta, and Fair Oaks.

House District 42 Representative Teri Anulewicz (campaign photo)

Anulewicz wrote in an email to the Courier, “I am proud to have earned a 100% rating from Georgia Conservation Voters. Several key pieces of legislation we voted on during the 2018 session will have a lasting impact. The Georgia Outdoor Stewardship Act, if approved by the voters in November, will dedicate an additional $20 million each year to preserve and protect land in Georgia for both conservation and public access. The passage of House Bill 930 will help commuters and employers in Georgia through funding major transit improvements in metro Atlanta, and the more cars we get off the road in Georgia, the more positive and lasting the impact is for the environment. ”

According to the description of the scorecard from Environment Georgia,

The Georgia legislature meets for 40 days every year and sessions last for two years. Over the course of a session hundreds of bills are introduced, debated, amended and some make it to the Governor for final approval. Incredibly important topics like water contamination from toxic coal waste, increased transit, solar power and measures to expand Georgia’s green space were all part of the 2017-18 legislative session.


This scorecard will help you understand your legislator’s conservation record and hold them accountable. We’ve also worked to highlight legislators who went above and beyond for our air, water and greenspace because important work to protect our environment often doesn’t always result in a vote on the floor of the State House or Senate.

Here are the rankings of Cobb’s state legislative delegation.  To learn the specifics of the environmental voting record of each legislator click on their name in the table:

House District Representative Rating
42 Teri Anulewicz 100
39 Erica Thomas 87.5
61 Roger Bruce 87.5
36 Earl Ehrhart 75
37 Samuel Teasley 75
38 David Wilkerson 75
41 Michael Smith 75
43 Sharon Cooper 75
44 Don Parsons 75
53 Sheila Jones 75
34 Albert Reeves 62.5
35 Ed Setzler 62.5
40 Rich Golick 62.5
46 John Carson 62.5
45 Matthew Dollar 50
Senate District Senator Rating
33 Michael Rhett 100
6 Jennifer Jordan 80
32 Kay Kirkpatrick 80
14 Bruce Thompson 77.8
38 Horacena Tate 77.8
37 Lindsey Tippens 66.7