Friday, Saturday, Sunday overnight lane closures on Powder Springs Road in Cobb

roadwork equipment in article about lane closed SR 360

The Georgia Department of Transportation announced that the lane closures for the resurfacing project on SR 360/Powder Springs Road will continue this weekend, with overnight closures starting Friday evening and continuing through the weekend.

The project scope is between Windy Hill Road and Sandtown Road, and the press release for this weekend’s work describes it as follows:

 Weather and on-site conditions permitting, one lane will be closed on Powder Springs Road northbound and southbound from Sandtown Road to Macland Road from 9 p.m. on Friday, October 15 and Saturday, October 16 until 9 a.m. the following mornings. Sunday night’s closures will begin at 9 p.m. and open at 5 a.m. on Monday. 

Work crews will be patching and milling the roadway. This $2.4 million project is scheduled for completion in spring 2022.
As always, motorists traveling in the area are reminded to reduce their speeds in the work zone. Motorists are also encouraged to wear seatbelts, eliminate distractions behind the wheel, and plan their routes before getting on the road by calling 511 for real-time information on work status and traffic conditions.

About the Georgia Department of Transportation

The GDOT describes itself as follows:

Georgia Department of Transportation plans, constructs and maintains Georgia’s state and federal highways. We’re involved in bridge, waterway, public transit, rail, general aviation, bike and pedestrian programs. And we help local governments maintain their roads. Georgia DOT and its nearly 4,000 employees are committed to delivering a transportation system focused on innovation, safety, sustainability and mobility. The Department’s vision is to boost Georgia’s competitiveness through leadership in transportation. 

The GDOT’s governing body is the 14-member State Transportation Board. The board is chosen by the state legislative delegations of each of the 14 congressional districts in Georgia. The board members serve five-year terms.

The board is currently chaired by Emily Dunn from the 9th Congressional District.

The State Transportation Board chooses the commissioner, currently Russell R. McMurry.