Reminder: Six Flag Parkway to be blocked this Tuesday, May 31, for month-long drainage installation project

roadwork equipment in article about lane closed SR 360

The Cobb County Department of Transportation posted the following news release to their website announcing that Six Flags Parkway will be closed between Hillcrest Drive & Silver Mine Trail starting on May 31, and that it will also affect CobbLinc bus service:

Six Flags Parkway will be closed to through traffic between Hillcrest Drive & Silver Mine Trail from May 31 to July 29. This closure is in effect to allow crews to replace a large culvert under Six Flags Parkway and place new drainage structures and pipes. This work is being completed as part of the Hillcrest Drive Sidewalk project (No. X2764 – 2016 SPLOST – Dist 4). For more information on this project, visit the Transportation Project Updates page or call (770) 528-1653.

View Larger Map

Route 25 Detour & Missed Stops

As a result of the road closure, CobbLinc’s Route 25 will detour along Six Flags Parkway to Lee Industrial Boulevard to access I-20. The following stops will be missed while the detour is in effect (May 31-July 29):

  • Stop No. 920960 (inbound)
  • Stop No. 920959 (inbound)
  • Stop No. 920958 (outbound)

For additional information regarding transit service, call (770) 427-4444.

About the Cobb County Department of Transportation

The Cobb County DOT website describes the responsibilities of the department as follows:

The Cobb County Department of Transportation (DOT) develops, manages, and operates Cobb County’s transportation system. This system includes a vast network of roadways, sidewalks, and trails; a transit system that provides public transportation; and an airport that serves business and recreational flying needs.

The Director and Deputy Director oversee all functions of the Cobb DOT.

Cobb DOT consists of several divisions, including engineering, traffic operations, planning, airport, transit, and road maintenance. It also includes support services, which is a general designation for services that support Cobb DOT across all divisions.

The director of the department is Drew Raessler.