Switzer Library celebrates reopening with live music

Photo of South Cobb Regional Library in article about fall book sale

The Cobb County Public Library announced that the reopening of the Switzer Library branch in Marietta will be celebrated with a live performance.

The following notice was posted on the library’s social media accounts:

Celebrate the recent re-opening of #SwitzerLibrary with a free, family-friendly musical performance by post-modern rock band the Palace Mirrors and songwriter Erik Herndon. The show starts Saturday, October 16 at 3 pm on the new outdoor plaza at the library. See you there!
#freeconcert #outdoorconcert #libraryconcert #cobblibrary

About the Cobb County Public Library

According to the Cobb County Public Library web site:


Cobb County Public Library is a 15-branch system headquartered in Marietta, Georgia, where its staff members serve a diverse population of over 750,000 people. Cobb is one of Georgia’s fastest-growing counties, and Cobb County Public Library is dedicated to being a resource center in the community by providing equal access to information, materials, and services.

History of Cobb’s library system

The first public library in Cobb County was opened in the home of Sarah Freeman Clarke in Marietta. The first standalone library building, opened on Church Street in 1893, and was named for Clarke.

Libraries were opened in Acworth and Austell in subsequent years, and in 1959, the city of Marietta and several other Cobb County libraries combined to form a countywide system that began the Cobb County Public Library as we know it today.

You can read more about the history of the Cobb County Public Library by following this link.