Cobb Chamber honors public safety employees

public safety personnel giving certificate to Cobb police detectivePhoto courtesy of the Cobb Chamber

The Cobb Chamber announced the names of public safety employees who won special recognition during its annual Public Safety Appreciation Breakfast this morning, October 3, 2022.

According to the news release announcing the winners:

The event kicked off Public Safety Appreciation Week, a community-wide effort to say “thank you” to the men and women who work tirelessly to keep Cobb County safe.

Randy Crider, Cobb Chamber Public Safety Chairman & Cobb County Director of Public Safety, as well as Sheriff Craig Owens, Cobb County Sheriff’s Department, addressed the audience to share messages of appreciation and to communicate how our community can come together to lift up our public safety year-round. Following these messages, awards were presented to public safety agencies from across Cobb County, including police, fire, sheriff’s office, campus police and EMS.


The winners of special recognition included the following:

Public Safety Employee of the Year, Detective Zachary Stannard,Cobb County Police Department

Award of Merit, Squad 7 & Rescue 23, Cobb County Fire and Emergency Services

Lt. Michael Barnett, FF. Adam Jones, FF. Alan Futch, Engineer Herbert Grimes.

Distinguished Achievement Award, Captain Tim Cameron, Marietta Fire Department

Outstanding Community Contribution (two recipients this year), ECOII Theresa Carcioppolo, Cobb County Department of Emergency Communications and Officer Sarah Youngblood, Marietta Police Department.

Medal of Valor, Captain Jason Holcombe, Powder Springs Police Department

To read the details of why each of the recipients were honored, follow this link to the complete news release.

About the Cobb Chamber

The Cobb Chamber, incorporated with the state as the Cobb County Chamber of Commerce, is the largest business organization in the county.

The President and CEO of the Cobb Chamber is Sharon Mason, the Chief Operating Officer is Dana Johnson, and the Chairwoman of the Board of Directors is Britt Fleck.

Projects of the Cobb Chamber include Cobb Executive Women, Cobb Young Professionals, and the Area Councils: Cumberland, East Cobb, Marietta, Northwest Cobb (Acworth, Kennesaw, West Cobb), Smyrna and South Cobb.

On its website the Cobb Chamber promotes itself as follows:

As one of the most influential business advocacy organizations in Georgia and one of the top three chambers in the nation, the Cobb Chamber is dedicated to bringing the community and its leaders together to create jobs and strengthen the economy and quality of life so businesses and the community can achieve more.

Who We Are: We are a community of businesses working together to advance a vibrant economy.

Why We Do It: When businesses thrive, communities flourish.

What We Do (Our Mission): Together, with diverse partnerships, we:

  • Attract, recruit and retain jobs.
  • Help companies start, grow and prosper.
  • Advocate and collaborate to enhance our state’s business climate.
  • Connect members to opportunities, new networks, and resources.
  • Develop workforce and support education.
  • Cultivate current and future leaders.